Ulisses Spiele
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Mark Morrison's Deadwave
Publisher: Cthulhu Reborn
by A. M. P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/28/2018 22:53:13

The download was flawless, and the one thing I really found OK or better were layout & roleplaying stats. Deadwave delivers a crude & obvious horror, alike Zombie-Apocalypse, escaped lunatic killer, or monster-hunter aka gut-the-nextbest-orc kinda crude & mindless kinda storyline. The author insists that vengeance (revenge) and hatred are powerful, but fails to make any true connection to the Cthulhu mythos AND does not even reach the prose, game mastery, or detail level and considerations of roleplay we got from Chaosium in the first edition of the Call of Cthulhu roleplaying game. Same with Trail of Cthulhu, as again ir has a much better grasp on what roleplaying actually means.

Others may like the concept, but I think it is completely misplaced in Call of Cthulhu, as there are games focused on the quick, mindless, and brutal kinda violence-worship. Well, actually I would still consider this too dumb and ill-prepared, when coming as a WoD-Slasher idea or with raging Sith thugs wielding red lightsabres... Bad work, to me not even worth a real review.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Mark Morrison's Deadwave
Click to show product description

Add to Ulisses Spiele Order

The Secrets of Skyhorn Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A. M. P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/27/2018 06:50:24

The adventure is a thoroughly art-worked or crafted product, and noteworthy already for that alone. The layout is proper enough, interior likewise, text format and font choice just as well. If you have been away from adventure-writing and need a solid example, then this one sure serves well. If you need an adventure 'in between' or to transport your players across the world-map, this may be a good choice just as well!

Structure and roleplaying stats are presented in a minimalism i appreciated. Nothing in the entire work is really lacking, sloppy, or poorly done. Formidable discipline and mindset at work I would call it.

Contextually the story was absolutely not my gusto. Still it was easy to understand, and aiming from a beginning to a middle and a climax. The prose used was not intermixing storytelling with the meta-language (Damage-Dealer, Tank, DPS...) either.

Contrary to my own freestyle writing this adventure is well-structured, with no babbling and no show-off, hence my 'solid' estimation of it.

I give 4 stars due not being fascinated by the story at all, and because I really think one could have made use of more or alternate fantasy species in this adventure.

Goodbye!

post skriptum

Shameless begging for reviews of my own contributions: http://www.drivethrufiction.com/product/236956/The-simple-twist & https://goo.gl/Cdi2Pc both need good, skilled reviews (even, if the vote makes it 1 star, just be honest, so customers know what they can expect)...



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Skyhorn Lighthouse
Click to show product description

Add to Ulisses Spiele Order

Hunters Hunted: Awakening Solo Chronicles
Publisher: White Wolf
by A. M. P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/18/2018 09:00:28

Review: Hunters the Awakening – Solo Chronicles 1&2

by Andrè M. Pietroschek

In hope of reciprocal or quit-pro-quo reviewing I attempted to test, if more community initiative would attract more customers to the storytellers vault and our files for sale.

The download we get was made of 3 parts. The main file, as PDF, and an update note by Mana Verde game design plus a PDF with more notes.

The Chronicles are presented in artful layout, and illustrations are actually fully OK. I could give 5 stars for that part.

Contextually I am personally displeased, as this is a blend of fighting fantasy with the World of Darkness, specifically Vampire the Masquerade.

What I found lacking is embedding the idea into a proper SAS (Storytelling Adventure System) way of game guiding and prose. It is too much about fighting, and it is not proper dramatis personae, when a character has higher fighting skills than profession skills.

Further the lack of invested effort in this part, the part which author and storyteller aka game guide are always the most about, could raise the suspicion of a copycat or plagiarism here.

The story we play is a decent solo adventure, but once again: I do not know any World of Darkness approach keeping it that much generic. For me it reduced the quality and entertainment aspect, but I don't like to make an offer and than give a 1 star review.

Contacting the author was easy, quick responses, and friendly enough for my taste. Still that does not mean I would not want customers to know my true evaluation, even though I kept it more diplomatic than I consider due.

The idea of blending fighting fantasy with WoD, if legally applied and presented in quality, IS splendid, as I am a decade long fan of the Lone Wolf series & Fighting Fantasy game books or www.ffproject.com

I give 3 stars, but know that some hours of effort, and license mentioning, if needed by law, could make this idea into a most impressing 5 star work. Sadly I am not very good at motivating fellow authors at all...



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Hunters Hunted: Awakening Solo Chronicles
Click to show product description

Add to Ulisses Spiele Order

Blood Magic
Publisher: Blood & Treasure
by A. M. P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/07/2017 20:48:43

Review of 'Blood Magic by Domino Finn, driveTHRU fiction epub', by Andrè M. Pietroschek.

Note: My download by click failed, i had to right click the link and save it manually, which worked instantly & flawless.

On revisit to post my review I got an autoload of the epub into my browser's epub reader, unexpected. But such minor glitches & bugs can happen... Plus: Sometimes a purchased product cannot be reviewed, as the purchase failed to register in the review section.

Please let me start with a hint to all readers and customers who unexpectedly get an epub file in a vault prefering PDF: https://icecreamapps.com/Ebook-Reader/ is a free reader which allows to enlarge or shrink the font size of epub files, and which can turn two column texts into one column, and the other way around, too. Just click the icons on the right side next to the text. Such can help to improve readability!

Ricky Kicks aka Rick Danvers is alike an occult detective in a scientific world. There are no vampires, witches, or werewolves, crimes are committed by human criminals! Working as a LAPD covert operative for Robbery Homicide, not ghosthunter stuff. The atmopshere reminds of hardboiled and noir classics, the dirty and downtrodden Skid Row of Los Angeles made me remember 'Blade Runner', and New Orleans Voodoo-Candomble-Obeah, as last seen in 'Angel Heart'.

The story had 31 pages in my epub viewer, and with format leaving no complaints it is precisely that, a story. No illustrations, no fuss, a reading getting us straight into the story, and through it to the climax.

The prose is readable, suiting the characters, and I think all decently educated Non-Native speakers of the English language can fully understand what is going on.

The story was cost-free, when I downloaded it, and made for a nice reading one can finish within 30 to 45 minutes, or even a bit faster.

I give 4 stars out of 5, as it is a cost-efficient, atmospheric gift.

Oops, I forgot to include my 'review my stuff' kinda link:

[https://goo.gl/Cdi2Pc]



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Magic
Click to show product description

Add to Ulisses Spiele Order

Clanbook: Nahema
Publisher: White Wolf
by Andre M. P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/06/2017 16:40:55

So they are out to get us all! A review on 'Clanbook: Nahema' by Travis Legge & Sarah Scharnweber. And filled with "out to get whomever" pranking, as the most fatal about a clanbook is a lack of GIGGLE. Even cobweb was invented later, but giggle is mandatory among the original blood of Malkav.

Malakai, the supposed or legendary sister of Malkav (creator of Cain in my own stories), and the childer she spawned among the Kindred. With a file size of 63 MegaByte (MB not Mbit) it is a comparably large download for mobile devices, but easily downloaded with highspeed volumne. I downloaded on the 05.12.2017, and had only a crash due midnight resetting my throttled connection back to highspeed.

As a roleplayer I could note minor 'mistakes' like Cain certainly being not precisely about blessing anyone or anything, as vampirism is a curse and hence anathema to blessing. But that is actually a prosaic issue, and I always encouraged freedom of speech and artists choosing their own style.

Camarilla & Inconnu, that hints at original VTM aka Vampire the Masquerade. Some younger roleplayers despise the old WoD, and prefer New World of Darkness instead. I was ST enough to pick my own preferences from VTM, VTR, and generic WoD. Just wanted to give readers, those who are not out to get me, their chance to know beforehand.

The phantasm discipline is a bit like going hybrid between Malkavian & Ravnos, but some may appreciate it. I remember the concept of madness warping the vicinity due KULT the Splatterpunk RPG, and do not like it as part of the WoD.

With just 27 pages the book fails to equal the official clanbooks, as it IS actually more a Malkavian variant only. At the same time the Nahema ARE presented well, and in detail. Still I think that four pages of colorful pictures, and stylish ones at that, can't replace some more story and atmospheric fluffing.

I would hint at "WoD - Asylum", especially the intro story of it. But a great pro for this clanbook, as it is, would be the price. I paid below €3.00,-, and for such a price it wasn't a slap in the face.

http://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/50011/World-of-Darkness-Asylum

I would give 3 stars, when serious and honest on the context for customers, but I will give 4 stars, as I myself did suicide-prevention-assistance, and had friends die in my arms in real life. Solidarity among roleplayers, authors, and artists kinda daring.

If I could give hints to the authors, then I would say check some more of the books, read some more fiction about the clans, and roleplay some more in a group of players. Though such could read like seething mockery to people suffering from the impairing effects, and social obstacles, due their mental illness in the real world.

Oh, and vampire hunters are out to get 'em kindred, too. ;-)

Adult readers are invited to my little part of the vault at: https://goo.gl/Cdi2Pc



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Clanbook: Nahema
Click to show product description

Add to Ulisses Spiele Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks very much for your review and your service in mental health. -Travis
Das Geheimnis Der Verschwundenen Baronie
Publisher: Ulisses Spiele
by Andre M. P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/22/2017 10:48:34

„Das Geheimnis der Verschwundenen Baronie“; Ein Gruppenabenteuer für 3 bis 6 Spieler oder Spielrinnen von Philip Koch. Dateigröße meines Downloads auf der Festplatte: 20,390 MB.

Kunden & Kundinnen können die Ersten Hinweise gerne überlesen, da geht es um kleinere Fehler bei Format und Zeilenumbruch.

Eventueller Korrekturbedarf:

Seite 8, ein Rest Text ist zur Skizze "umgebrochen" worden (Format-Klassiker)

Schriftart etwas suboptimal und erfordert Zoom, besser etwas größer.

Seite 14: Bei den Werten ist etwas ungerade (Werte Ritter sieht verwackelt aus) & Hakendolch bei Werte Käptn (Kapitän) ist auch verrutscht (passiert in vielen Textverarbeitungen und beim umwandeln in andere Formate, wie PDF oder EPUB manchmal).

Skizzen der Orte schwarz umrahmen, oder einen Illustrator durch "Charisma Probe" dazu bringen, verbesserte Karten anzufertigen.

Seite 41, Werte Schmiede, GE 12 ist nicht sauber eingepasst.

Bonus-Empfehlung: Ich würde eine Zweite Variante anfertigen, bei der die Gesamte Seite als Blocktext strukturiert ist. Dies ist auf Tablet-PC's, 2 in 1 „convertibles“ & smartphones einfacher zu lesen. Dadurch erreicht man, laut Autoren 101, eventuell andere Kundengruppen zusätzlich.

Ende meiner unaufgeforderten Korrekturhinweise.

Inhaltlich erhalten wir ein Abenteuer, dass bei Layout und Skizzen der Schauplätze minimalistisch bleibt. Ich mag das, ich kann damit arbeiten UND ich sehe darin keinen Qualitätsverlust. Mir ist aber durch jahrelange Kritiker, berufliche & private, durchaus klar, dass in den Neuen Generationen Leute meckern, wenn Sie nicht Karten in Hochauflösung serviert kriegen. Zu meiner Zeit „musste“ man Campaign Cartographer 3, oder Ähnliches, gefälligst kaufen. Ich hielt dem Druck stand, und nutzte stattdessen meine Fantasie und Improvisationstalent.

Der Schreibstil und die Prosa von Herrn Koch sind verständlich und überschaubar. Keine Überlängen und keine Szene, die man nicht zumindest grob umrissen, oder zusammengefasst verstehen kann. Man muss auch nicht studiert haben, um das Abenteuer zu verstehen. Humor und Atmosphäre bedenkt der Autor kontinuierlich, auf allen 45 Seiten.

Der Ablauf und der Inhalt mögen Geschmackssache sein, doch beginnend mit einer Schlägerei im Wirtshaus geht es über Feenturnier-Teilnahme bis zum Finale wirklich durch ein Abenteuer. Erfahrene Meister & Meisterinnen des Schwarzen Auges werden bestimmt eigene Ergänzungen hinkriegen, doch auch als Neuling kann man sich ausprobieren.

Da ich davon ausgehe, dass Herr Koch die „kleinen Fehler“ noch nachträglich korrigiert, gebe ich 4 bis 5 Sterne UND weise darauf hin, dass selbst eine Gruppe von 4 arbeitslosen Rollenspielern es sich leisten könnte, für dieses Abenteuer & die gelieferte Arbeit, mindestens € 1,00 zu zahlen.

Ich wünsche Herrn Koch viel Erfolg & viel Spaß, doch spricht nicht mein Ego, wenn ich vermerke, dass Sie mit mehr Erfahrung und Übung noch besser werden. Das Geheimnis, aus meiner Sicht, ist: Nicht komplett aufhören, real am Tisch Rollenspiele zu machen, sonst ist man nur Autor, nicht Rollenspiel-Autor.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Das Geheimnis Der Verschwundenen Baronie
Click to show product description

Add to Ulisses Spiele Order

Scriptorium Aventuris - Kartenwerk-Paket
Publisher: Ulisses Spiele
by Andre M. P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/10/2017 06:24:41

Dieser Download bildet mit ca. 30 Megabyte meiner Meinung nach einen guten Kompromiss zwischen hochauflösender Qualität und handlicher Verfügbarkeit.

Beinhaltet sind eine Übersichtskarte von Aventurien und die Einzelnen Regionen des Kontinents (zum Beispiel Thorwal oder das Mittelreich) als eigenständige Karten.

Alle Karten sind in Farbe und sowohl hübsch, als auch detailiert.

Guter Download. Danke.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scriptorium Aventuris - Kartenwerk-Paket
Click to show product description

Add to Ulisses Spiele Order

Scriptorium Aventuris - Illustrationen-Paket
Publisher: Ulisses Spiele
by Andre M. P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/09/2017 23:08:17

Zunächst einmal: Danke! Doch für mich ist dies eine problematische Rückmeldung bzw. Mini-Rezension.

Inhaltlich erhalten wir hochwertige und DSA-Geeignete Bilder von Charakteren, Kreaturen, Momenten im Leben und Vignetten. Format ist *.TIF und auch wenn Geschmäcker verschieden sind, im künstlerischen Aspekt würde ich ganz klar 5 Punkte geben.

Erfreut war ich auch über die (zusätzlicher Download) Liste der Künstler & Künstlerinnen und wer welches Bild gemalt hat, denn selbstverständlich nennt man die Cover-Artists & Illustrationen namentlich.

Meine persönlichen 2 Rückschläge:

  1. Der Download ist groß und bei mobilen Geräten bedeutet das ich habe wieder mal mein Geld verbrannt, weil ich nicht vorher wissen konnte, dass es eine solche Datenmenge wird. Für einen Gigabyte zahle ich 10€, für 5 Gigabyte 20€. Demnach unerfreulich, doch Schwamm drüber, ist halt mein Problem. Vor zehn Jahren hätte ich mit Fäusten vor Freude die Wohnungswände geprügelt. Doch man wird älter und weiser. Aufrichtig.
  2. Der Zweite Rückschlag: Für das Titelbild meiner Mini-Geschichte, bislang einziger Beitrag in dieser (DSA, Ulisses) Vault; Nur das Havena Wappen wäre arbeitstechnisch überhaupt passend UND nützlich. Da die Künstler & Künstlerinnen Ihre Kunst aber gerne frei und unbefangen präsentieren dürfen & sollen: Ich nehme es mit schwarzem Humor. "Obwohl mein Beitrag DSA von grundauf revolutioniert hat, BLABLA et cetera, boten sich ausgerechnet mir die Letzten Schelme & Schelminnen an, die mein vermeidliches Meisterwerk geächtet hatten!"

Ich gebe 4 Sterne, weil wir zwar hochwertige Kunst geboten kriegen UND man uns klar hilft, damit legal zu arbeiten, selbstverständlich nur innerhalb des 'Scriptorium Aventuris', doch weil die Künstler & Künstlerinnen sich eben selbst präsentieren und uns die Arbeit überlassen... Dazu fehlen einige Charaktere und der Tatzelwurm. Nein, Riesenlindwurm ist kein anderer Name für Tatzelwurm, ich war schon in der Ersten Auflage DSA Spieler und zwangsweise auch Meisterle...

Trotzdem vielen Dank und Ihnen allen viel Erfolg!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Scriptorium Aventuris - Illustrationen-Paket
Click to show product description

Add to Ulisses Spiele Order

Vampire: The Dark Ages Logos
Publisher: White Wolf
by Andre M. P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/09/2017 09:35:53

Not that i am not grateful for wasted download volume i have to pay for. Still this package has identical content, when compared with the 'SV Logos' package.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Dark Ages Logos
Click to show product description

Add to Ulisses Spiele Order

FREE Innsmouth Music Sampler
Publisher: Darkling Harp
by Andre M. P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/04/2017 16:58:30

Refreshingly free from the stains of hubris and narcicissm Tim Fatchen delivers what he promises! Dark, gloomy, and moody this sample aka example of his background music (for Cthulhu or World of Darkness) made a very good impression to me, and worked even while editing my own fiction and cover-art-composing!

A wonderful appetizer proving that the musician or sound-artist Tim Fatchen did earn his place on our wishlists & products to remember!

[ I gave five of five stars, but due destruction of my main notebook I am working on long outdated tech, the screen shaking and flashing due the constantly overpowered 64MB graphic chip losing it...]



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FREE Innsmouth Music Sampler
Click to show product description

Add to Ulisses Spiele Order

Dark Ages: Vampire Second Edition Templates
Publisher: White Wolf
by Andre M. P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/31/2017 21:27:01

Guys & Girlies: YOU are the professionals! Someone from down at the base (or a notch deeper, as I earn no new money) should never be forced to explain mistakes banned in every 101 of the planet to you.

Separate your sex-club, or whatever personal predilection clouds your judgment, from your business sanity. Drug-tests for ALL employees, especially bosses and management, on a quarterly regular. Monthly would be better, but otherwise we will mail each other from one bum shelter to the next withdrawal clinic in the damn near future. Literally, out of character...

In an age of mobile devices you dish us badly compressed files, mixture of PC & Macintosh, Gigabytes of wasted download volume for all who seriously accept your invitation?

Logos you demand to be in each file are absent in several of YOUR professional downloads, too? Come on! Trying to show the finger means you are just too sissy to admit you hate people from all lower income classes.

I ain't bluffing, when I state that ten minutes of my begging gather better skilled artists simply because I accidentally pause during peeing them off... And, if I learned to keep my part of each agreement, when precisely would you pros realize that is expected from each of you, too, 24/7 ???

To summarize a basic creed about actually working the unpaid part of the ST vault: White Wolf should learn to focus on regaining lost customers & acquiring new ones (which is by enticement, and not by marketing idiocy). Instead they waste even more welcome.

Ok, lets compromise, give my outrages & my name as much place in official products, as you gave that Witch Finder author for his pestering with the own sexual insecurity straight in a book on Hunters vs Witches...



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Ages: Vampire Second Edition Templates
Click to show product description

Add to Ulisses Spiele Order

Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
Powered by DriveThruRPG